
Winery Quick Reference 
 
 

LICENSING 
 

Do I need a wine maker’s license? 
 
If you are manufacturing wine in New York State for resale, you must be licensed by the State Liquor 
Authority (SLA) as well as have a winery permit through the federal Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade 
Bureau (TTB).1  https://www.ttb.gov/wine 

Can I be a licensed wine maker in New York State? 
 

Statutory Disqualifiers 
 

The following are the five categories of person who cannot hold an SLA license: 
 

(1) persons who have been convicted of any felony, or promoting or permitting prostitution, or sale of 
liquor without an alcoholic beverage license; 
(2) persons under the age of 21; 
(3) persons who are not a United State citizen, an alien admitted to the United State for permanent 
lawful residence, or a citizen of a reciprocal trade nation (see SLA Advisory #2015-21); 
(4) persons whose alcoholic beverage license was revoked for cause within the past 2 years; 
(5) persons who are police officers/police officials. 

 
Tied House 

 
Additionally, the “tied house law” prohibits any person who holds a direct or indirect interest in any 
retail establishment selling alcoholic beverages (whether in New York State, another state, or abroad) 
from holding a wine maker’s license (or any other manufacturing or wholesaling license) in New York 
State. 2 

 
Must I have my own winery to be licensed? 

 
In order to be licensed as a wine maker in New York State, you must actually produce wine (not just 
contract out production) and have your own facility or have a tenancy at the facility of another where 
such production occurs. 

 
Tenant manufacturing and alternating proprietorships 

 
Tenant manufacturing otherwise known as alternating proprietorship is permissible in New York. In 
such an arrangement, two or more licensees share the same facility with all the same rights and 

 
1 Wine manufactured for personal consumption and not sold commercially does not require licensure. Check with 
TTB for limits. 
2 Note that a restaurant brewer license is not a brewing license, it is a retail license, and cannot be held along with 
a wine maker’s license. 

https://www.ttb.gov/wine
https://sla.ny.gov/system/files/documents/2018/08/advisory2015-21-eligibility-toholdalicenseorpermit-citizenship.pdf


responsibilities with regard to the premises. Each manufacturer must themselves produce the annual 
statutory minimum amount of product at the facility. Under such an arrangement, overhead can be 
reduced, as costs can be shared. 

 
Unlicensed Brand Owners 

 
An unlicensed person/entity in New York may not contract with a licensed wine maker to have a product 
made that the unlicensed person/entity would own the brand of and/or participate in the resale of. 

 
What type of license should I apply for? 

 

Winery License – a winery may produce wine, wine products, and mead, has no cap on production 
volume, and no New York State ingredient requirements as to its products. A winery may sell their own 
wine and wine products, and any New York State labeled wine, any New York State labeled wine 
products, and any New York State labeled cider for consumption on the premises and to go. Initial 
application cost is $3,025 for a 36-month license. 

 
Farm Winery License – a farm winery may produce wine, wine product, cider, and mead, has a 250,000 
gallon limit on annual production, and requires the licensee to use 75% New York State grapes or other 
fruits in its wine and wine products, 100% New York State apples/pome fruits in its cider, and 100% New 
York State honey in its mead. A farm winery may sell its own and any other New York State labeled 
products (e.g., beer, cider, wine, mead, braggot, liquor) at the licensed premises and to go. A farm 
winery must be located on a farm. Initial application cost is $525 for a 36-month license. 

 
What steps should I take before applying? 

 
If time is of the essence in beginning production and opening your doors (and we know it usually is), you 
should first check with SLA to understand processing times and to be able to plan accordingly. Email 
licensing.information@sla.ny.gov. Additionally, you should apply for your winery permit with TTB as 
soon as possible. Lastly, before applying you should get a filing receipt from the Secretary of State after 
registering your corporation or LLC or obtain a business certificate from your county clerk for your sole 
proprietorship or partnership. 

 
Where do I find the wine maker’s application? 

 
From our homepage: www.sla.ny.gov, visit Licenses -- Get a License. From there you will find the 
Application Wizard, which will guide you to the correct application. 

 

What must I submit with my license application? 
 

Once you have downloaded (or emailed yourself) the correct application and instructions, you will also 
be given a checklist of all necessary items and a coversheet including the correct amount to submit 
along with the application. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

https://www.businessexpress.ny.gov/app/answers/cms/a_id/2027/kw/Alcoholic%20Beverage%20Manufacturer%20License
mailto:licensing.information@sla.ny.gov
http://www.sla.ny.gov/
https://sla.ny.gov/get-license
https://www.businessexpress.ny.gov/app/applicationwizard/slaappwizard_manf


Is a temporary operating permit available while my application is pending review? 
 

Yes. The Temporary Operating Permit Application for Manufacturers should be used by applicants to 
obtain a permit to operate while the application is pending.  

 
Where do I find the temporary retail permit application? 

 
From our homepage: www.sla.ny.gov, visit Forms Quick Find in the footer. Use the search function to 
find  the application. Please include the temporary permit application with your main license application. 

 
 

When can I start brewing? 
 

Once you’ve received approval of your application and your license certificate. A conditional approval is 
not sufficient – as you must meet the conditions set forth before final approval may be granted. 

http://www.sla.ny.gov/
https://sla.ny.gov/forms-quick-find
https://sla.ny.gov/system/files/documents/2022/03/temp-manufacturing-permits_6.pdf


 

--------------------------------------------------------- 
 
 

LICENSEES 
 

PRIVILEGES 
 

What products can I manufacture at my winery? 
 

A winery may make wine, wine products, and mead. 
 

A farm winery may make New York State labeled wine, New York State labeled wine products, New York 
State labeled cider and New York State labeled mead. 

 
Can I distribute my own products to licensed retailers? 

 
All manufacturing licenses come with the right to self-distribution. 

 
Can I distribute my own products out of state? 

 
Terms of sales and distribution out of state are governed by the laws of the importing jurisdiction. 

 
Can I sell my own products for consumption at my winery? Other manufacturer’s products? 

 
A winery may sell for consumption at the licensed premises: (1) any wine, wine product it makes as well 
as (2) any New York State labeled wine, New York State labeled wine product, or New York State labeled 
cider. 

 
A farm winery may sell for consumption at the licensed premises: (1) any wine, wine product, or cider it 
makes as well as (2) any other New York State labeled product (beer, wine, cider, mead, liquor). 

 
Must I serve food? 

 
If you are selling alcoholic beverages for on premises consumption, you must make food available. A 
diversified selection of finger foods, such as cheeses, fruits, and crackers is sufficient. 

 
Can I sell other items at my winery? 

 
A winery and farm winery may sell other items such as food, wine supplies, souvenirs, etc. See §76 (11) 
and §76-a (4) of the ABC Law for a complete list. 

 
Can I obtain an on premises license at the winery to sell all types of alcoholic beverages? 

 
Yes, you may apply separately for an on premises license which permits the sale of any type of alcoholic 
beverage (i.e., not strictly New York State labeled products). Please note the food requirement at an on 
premises establishment is greater than that noted above and requires soups, sandwiches and the like for 
a tavern, a menu containing full entrees for a restaurant, etc. 



 

Can I sell my products to go from the winery? Other manufacturer’s products? 
 

A winery may sell for consumption off the licensed premises: (1) any wine and wine product it makes as 
well as (2) any New York State labeled wine, New York State labeled wine product, or New York State 
labeled cider. 

 
A farm winery may sell for consumption off the licensed premises: (1) any wine, wine product, or cider it 
makes as well as (2) any other New York State labeled product (beer, wine, cider, mead, liquor). 

 
Can I sell on the internet? 

 
Yes, wineries, unlike other types of alcoholic beverage manufacturers in New York State, have the right 
to direct to consumer shipping. See §79-D of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Law for relevant 
requirements. 

 
What is a branch office? 

 
A branch office is a privilege of a farm winery and is an off-site location at which all activities of the 
licensed premises may be carried out (production, product sale, on premises license, etc.). A farm 
winery is entitled to up to 5 branch office permits. There is no fee required to obtain a branch office 
permit. 

 
COMPLIANCE 

 
How much wine must I produce? 

 
At the licensed facility, you must produce at least 50 gallons of wine, and/or wine product, and/or cider, 
and/or mead annually. You cannot rely on a contract manufacturer to produce the annual production 
minimum for you. If you are producing at a branch office as well as your licensed facility, you will still 
need to produce at least 50 gallons at the licensed facility. 

 
Can I contract manufacture for another manufacturer? 

 
Yes, you may contract to produce for another manufacturer any product that both you and the other 
manufacturer may produce. If in New York State, the other manufacturer must also be licensed. Any 
product you produce for another manufacturer will count against your production cap (if you have one) 
and any product purchased by another licensed New York State manufacturer will also count against its 
cap (if it has one). 

 
Can I contract manufacture for an unlicensed entity? 

 
Not if the other entity is in New York State. 

 
Must I register the brand labels for all of my products? 

 
Wine which is 7% or more requires only a TTB COLA, and does not require brand label registration with 
New York State. 



 

For all other products (wine which is less than 7%, wine products, cider, and mead), you must register 
the brand labels before selling them – this is in addition to obtaining a TTB COLA. 

 
Selling product which is not labeled is a health and safety issue and is against the law. 

 
Must I serve food if I am serving alcoholic beverages? 

 
Yes, see above for standards. 

 
Can I employ someone who has been convicted of a felony? 

 
Not unless (1) that person has received a pardon or certificate of good conduct or other relief from 
disabilities or (2) specific approval has been granted by the SLA. 

 
Can another business entity operate on my licensed premises, e.g. a food truck? 

 
No. No other business may operate on your licensed premises, this includes food trucks, a food 
concessionaire, a gift shop, etc., if not run by you the licensee. However, note that a food truck (or any 
other business) may operate on any part of your property that is not licensed (e.g. a parking lot or field). 

 
Is another manufacturer considered a second business? 

 
No, multiple manufacturers may operate at the same premises – see alternating proprietorships/tenant 
manufacturing above. 

 
One entity may also hold more than one license at a single premises – e.g., a farm winery and micro 
brewery. 

 
Can I sell other items at my winery, e.g., t-shirts, foods, etc.? 

 
Yes, see ABC Law See §76 (11) and §76-a (4) for what items are permissible. 

 
Must I notify the Authority before making a change in ownership? 

 
Yes, if you plan to take on or remove owners/investors, change shares of ownership, or appoint or 
remove officers/directors/members, before making those changes, you must submit and wait for the 
approval of a corporate change application. A corporate change application can be found here. 

 

Are there any exceptions? 
 

Yes, where a corporation/LLC or has 10 or more stockholders/members and a change involves less than 
10% of the stock holdings/ownership of the corporation/LLC and no stockholders/members total 
holdings/ownership are increased to 10% or more. 

 
Must I notify the Authority before I make changes to the premises? 

https://sla.ny.gov/system/files/documents/2019/11/corporate-change-application-11-4-19ms_0.pdf


Yes, if you are a winery (not a micro or farm winery), any significant change requires the filing of an 
alteration application before renovations begin. The form may be found here. A significant change 
includes: 

 
• Any enlargement or contraction of the premises 
• Any physical change that reduces visibility 
• Any other change that materially affects the character of the premises 

 
Must I notify the Authority about minor changes? 

 
Yes, if you are a winery (not a micro or farm winery), you must file an affidavit request for any change 
costing less than $10,000 which does not affect the character or structure of the premises. If the 
request is not denied within 20 days, it is deemed approved on the 25th day from after filing. 

 
How do I notify the Authority of minor changes in the business? 

 
An endorsement application, found here, is used for minor changes such as the following: 

 
• Name or Address corrections on the license certificate 
• Court appointments of representative 
• Dissolution of partnership or addition of partner 
• Principal name changes due to marriage or divorce 
• Amendment to the corporate name of the licensed premises when there is no change in 

ownership or corporate entity 

https://sla.ny.gov/system/files/documents/2018/08/alterations-manufacturers.pdf
https://sla.ny.gov/system/files/documents/2019/12/endorsement-application-080913_19b.pdf

	LICENSING
	Can I be a licensed wine maker in New York State?
	Tied House
	Must I have my own winery to be licensed?
	Tenant manufacturing and alternating proprietorships
	Unlicensed Brand Owners
	What steps should I take before applying?
	Where do I find the wine maker’s application?
	What must I submit with my license application?
	Is a temporary operating permit available while my application is pending review?
	Where do I find the temporary retail permit application?
	When can I start brewing?
	---------------------------------------------------------
	PRIVILEGES
	Can I distribute my own products to licensed retailers?
	Can I distribute my own products out of state?
	Can I sell my own products for consumption at my winery? Other manufacturer’s products?
	Must I serve food?
	Can I sell other items at my winery?
	Can I obtain an on premises license at the winery to sell all types of alcoholic beverages?
	Can I sell my products to go from the winery? Other manufacturer’s products?
	Can I sell on the internet?
	What is a branch office?
	COMPLIANCE
	Can I contract manufacture for another manufacturer?
	Can I contract manufacture for an unlicensed entity?
	Must I register the brand labels for all of my products?
	Must I serve food if I am serving alcoholic beverages?
	Can I employ someone who has been convicted of a felony?
	Can another business entity operate on my licensed premises, e.g. a food truck?
	Is another manufacturer considered a second business?
	Can I sell other items at my winery, e.g., t-shirts, foods, etc.?
	Must I notify the Authority before making a change in ownership?
	Are there any exceptions?
	Must I notify the Authority before I make changes to the premises?
	Must I notify the Authority about minor changes?
	How do I notify the Authority of minor changes in the business?

