May 4, 2022
|
Albany, NY

State Liquor Authority Conducts Underage Drinking Operation in Oneida County

State Liquor Authority Conducts Underage Drinking Operation in Oneida County
1 of 22 Licensees Make Sales to Underage Agent

The New York State Liquor Authority (SLA) today announced the results of an underage sting operation conducted on April 29, 2022 in Oneida County.  SLA investigators, working with the New York State Police and an underage agent, conducted an underage-drinking operation visiting twenty-two licensed premises.  In total, the undercover agent was able to purchase alcohol at one of the twenty-two businesses visited.

The businesses alleged to have sold to a minor were:

  • Nice N Easy #7601
    7296 W Main St, Westmoreland

The businesses refusing to sell to a minor were:

  • Fastrac #231
    924 State Rte 49, Marcy
  • Fastrac #221
    384 N. Genesee St, Utica
  • Byrne Dairy
    17 Auert Ave, Utica
  • Fastrac #248
    1301 Herkimer Rd, Utica
  • Byrne Dairy
    185 Oriskany Blvd, Whitesboro
  • Speedway #9911
    826 Oriskany Blvd, Yorkville
  • Fastrac #242
    1400-1410 Oriskany Blvd, Utica
  • Rocks Liquor
    280 Oriskany Blvd, Yorkville
  • Cliffs Local Market
    4862 Commercial Dr, New York Mills
  • Mirabito #108
    8536 Seneca Tpke, New Hartford
  • Seneca Turnpike Liquors
    8360 Seneca Tpke, New Hartford
  • Cliffs Local Market
    17 Genesee St, New Hartford
  • Byrne Dairy
    31 Champion Rd, New Hartford
  • Gulf
    28 Kellogg Rd, New Hartford
  • Sunoco A Plus 4016
    9272 Kellogg Rd, New Hartford
  • Mirabito #107
    3417 Oneida St, Chadwicks
  • Cliffs Local Market
    33 Utica St, Clinton
  • Byrne Dairy
    7767 State Rte 5, Clinton
  • Cliffs Local Market
    7481 State Rte 5 Clinton
  • Stewart’s Shop #455
    5319 State Rte 233, Westmoreland
  • Cliffs Local Market
    8429 State Rte 69, Oriskany

 

Licensees charged by the SLA with underage sales face civil penalties of up to $10,000 per violation, with fines starting from $2,500 to $4,000 for a first-time offense. Repeat offenders also face possible suspension, cancellations, or revocation of their licenses.  In addition, employees or licensees who sell to minors can be arrested and charged with a misdemeanor. Persons under the age of 21 found to be using fake IDs or false documents with the intent of purchasing alcohol can be arrested and have their license revoked for a minimum of 90 days or up to one year. Undercover agents work under the direct supervision of SLA Beverage Control Investigators.    

 

Contact the Public Information Office

Contact the Public Information Office if you're a member of the media with questions regarding the Authority.

Contact us by phone:

Contact us by email: