Get a License

Get a License

If your business deals with the importation, manufacture, distribution or sale of alcohol in NY, you need a liquor license.
Get a License

One of the State Liquor Authority's main functions is issuing licenses and permits. The licensing review process is dependent on the type of application or permit applied for, the current volume of applications, and the completeness and accuracy of the application submitted.  The review process currently takes approximately 22-26 weeks for most types of applications; however, most retail businesses and all manufacturing businesses are eligible to apply for a temporary retail operating permit or to apply for a temporary manufacturing permit that allows many applicants to be open and operating for alcoholic beverage sales and/or production typically in less than 30 days. Any deficiencies in your application may result in delays or disapproval of your application.    

There are four main groups of liquor licenses:

  • on-premises licenses (e.g., bars, restaurants, taverns, hotels); 
  • off-premises licenses (e.g., liquor stores, wine stores, grocery stores, convenience stores, drug stores); 
  • manufacturing licenses (e.g., breweries, wineries, distilleries, cideries, meaderies); and
  • wholesale licenses (e.g., beer wholesalers, wine wholesalers, importers).

Within each group are numerous types of licenses. Each license type has a different set of application requirements.

All on-premises, off-premises, manufacturing and wholesale applications are provided through New York Business Express as fillable forms.

Please note, that after your check is cashed, it can take up to 15 days to receive a receipt from the State Liquor Authority acknowledging that your application has been submitted and is in the LEAP system.

Get a License
On-Premises Licenses

On-Premises Licensees can sell and serve alcohol by the glass for consumption on the premises. All on-premises licensees are required to sell food at all hours of operation.

Off-Premises Licenses

Off-Premises Licensees can sell alcoholic beverages by the bottle to go for consumption someplace other than the licensed premises.

Get a Temporary Permit
New applicants can apply for a temporary permit to serve alcohol while the license application is being processed. Temporary permits are processed in approximately 30 days, and are valid for 90 days. Temporary permits are available for on-premises licenses and grocery stores.
E-mailing 30 Day Advanced Notice
As part of the FY 2023 State Budget, the Alcoholic Beverage Control Law was amended to allow applicants to provide the required 30-day advanced notice to their municipality or community board via email, provided the municipality or community board elects to accept notices via email.
Get a License
Manufacturers and Wholesalers
Manufacturers can produce alcoholic beverages and wholesale the alcoholic beverages they produce. Wholesalers can sell alcohol at wholesale to New York State licensed wholesalers and retailers.