Retail Store Front

Become a Retailer

Become a Retailer
SHARE
Overview
Retail Licenses

Retail licenses are divided between on-premises and off-premises licenses. If you have an on-premises license, you can sell or serve alcoholic beverages to be consumed at your licensed premises. This is sometimes referred to as "sale by the glass". Restaurants, bars and taverns are examples of on-premises licenses. If you have an off-premises license, you can sell alcoholic beverages to be consumed someplace other than your licensed premises. This is sometimes referred to as "sales by the bottle" or "sales to go". Grocery stores, liquor stores and wine stores are examples of off-premises licenses.

What You Need to Know
Becoming a Licensed Retailer
Location and Eligibility

All applicants should investigate the location of their business before beginning the application process. The law prohibits certain licenses from being near schools, places or worhship and other licensed establishments. The law also contains eligibility requirements for individuals applying for a license. 

The Application Process

The application review period can take approximately 50 days depending on the type of license you apply for, the volume of applications submitted and the completeness of your application. Under certain circumstances, an applicant can obtain a permit to operate while the application is pending.

Approvals and Disapprovals

Applications are investigated to determine eligibility based on the principals, the premises and the source of finances. The application file is reviewed for completeness and ultimately, approval or disapproval. An application will either be: disapproved; approved; or conditionally approved.

Apply
Retail Licenses
On Premises

Allows a person to sell alcoholic beverages to patrons for consumption at the licensed premises. The sale of food is a requirement for all license applicants.

Off Premises

Allows a person to sell alcoholic beverages to patrons for consumption off the licensed premises.

Retailers Outside of New York City
Get a Temporary Permit
New applicants can apply for a temporary permit to serve alcohol while the license application is being processed. Temporary permits are processed in approximately 10 days, and are valid for 90 days. Temporary permits are available for on-premises licenses and grocery stores outside of New York City.
Notice to be Posted at Proposed Premises
All new applications for a license to sell liquor at retail must post this notice in a conspicuous place at the entrance of the premises within 10 days of filing the application.